Tinto tells his story

Lightvessel N11, launching

Hi! I am Tinto, a lightship.

I was built in England and launched on August 15th 1951. That means I am a Leo, as the webmistress of this site. Originally I had no name, just a number. I always felt jealous of the ships who had their own names and mottoes.

I worked in the Irish see, helping other ships to avoid dangerous places. The Irish sea is stormy, especially in the autumn and in winter times. Once I broke adrift but managed to get back.

With the advance in modern marine navigation, there is not much need for lightships. Many of us have been forced to retire. I had to quit my service in 1988. I was very upset because the most important thing for a lightship is to give light and to help others find their way.

Lightvessel N11 in Rotterdam

Soon after my retirement I came to the Netherlands. I was even more upset when I realized that I would become a floating restaurant. Isn't it sad to know that nobody needs your light? I was unhappy even when I finally got my own name, Breeveertien. That was the name of an area in the North Sea. Later on, the name was painted over and I had nothing but a number.

But suddenly everything changed.

On a gloomy autumn day, a strange visitor came on board. She could actually talk to ships! It turned out she was not a human being but an aeroplane who can turn into a human girl! Her name was Soleil. She called me Tinto, by the name of the restaurant on my board.

Together, we started an unusual journey. We passed the misty Border of the Worlds and reached the Lighthouse of All Ways. But the Lighthouse with two good-hearted winged maidens, its keepers, is a story in its own right, which I will tell later. The Lighthouse guided us to the Star Harbour.

The Star Harbour is an astounding place! You can find there all ships from the past and some that are still present upon the earth. Soleil and I met there our old friends and made some new ones. And, most importantly, I became once again a lightship! Not in the Irish Sea but in the Star Ocean.

Tinto - Lightship N11 at sunny day

Now I live both on earth and in the Star Harbour. I've come to understand one important thing: even working as a restaurant, I keep giving light. My light is still needed here on earth. Perhaps it is not as bright as in the Star Ocean, but it reminds people of something very important.

If you happen to be in Rotterdam, welcome aboard! My address is Wijnhaven t/o 101, close to Leuvehaven metro station. You can also visit the open air museum and see there my friends, the ships from different times.

The photos are from www.feuerschiffseite.de The third photo is by Almira Ilvairie.



Friends

> The IRBENSKY lightship
> Amber Radio
> Complex Numbers

News

2014-01-07 13:39:38
Mary Axl concert in honor of the lightship IRBENSKY -... (more)

2013-03-28 08:15:05
Sometimes you see something beautiful but have no camera at... (more)

Тинто рассказывает о себе

Плавучий маяк N11, cпуск на воду

Привет! Меня зовут Тинто. Я - корабль-маяк.

Меня построили в Англии и спустили на воду 15 августа 1951 года. Получается, что по знаку Зодиака я Лев, как и хозяйка студии. У меня не было имени, только номер - одиннадцать. И я всегда завидовал кораблям, у которых были и имя, и девиз.

Я служил в Ирландском море, помогал другим кораблям обходить опасные места. Там часто штормит, особенно осенью и зимой. Однажды во время шторма меня сорвало с якоря и унесло довольно далеко, но я сумел вернуться.

С развитием современной морской навигации плавучие маяки перестали быть нужны. Многих из нас отправили в отставку. Так и моя служба закончилась в 1988 году. Я был очень огорчён, ведь для корабля-маяка главное - светить, помогать другим находить дорогу.

Плавучий маяк N11 в Роттердаме

Вскоре после отставки я оказался в Голландии. Узнав, что мне предстоит работать рестораном, я расстроился ещё больше. Ведь это грустно - жить и знать, что твой маяк никому не нужен. Я даже не радовался тому, что мне наконец дали имя - Брейвертин, по названию участка Северного моря. Потом имя на борту закрасили, и у меня снова остался только номер.

Но однажды всё изменилось.

Пасмурным осенним днём, когда мне было особенно грустно, ко мне на борт зашла необычная посетительница. Во-первых, она умела говорить с кораблями. Во-вторых, оказалось, что она не человек вовсе, а самолёт, биплан, какие сейчас и не летают! Звали её Солейль. Она и дала мне имя Тинто, по названию ресторана у меня на борту.

Вместе с Соль мы отправились в путешествие. Мы прошли туманную Границу миров и вышли к Маяку всех дорог. Но о Маяке и его крылатых смотрительницах отдельный рассказ. Маяк показал нам дорогу в Звёздную гавань.

Звёздная гавань - удивительное место! Там живут все корабли из прошлого и даже некоторые из настоящего. И люди - те, кто жил на земле и любил море. Там мы с Соль встретили старых друзей и обрели новых. А главное - я снова стал плавучим маяком! Но уже не в Ирландском море, а в Звёздном океане.

Плавучий маяк N11 в Роттердаме - Тинто

Теперь я живу и на земле, и в Звёздной гавани. И я понял одну важную вещь: даже работая как ресторан, я продолжаю светить. Мой маяк нужен и на земле. Пусть он светит не так ярко, как в Звёздном океане, но его свет напоминает людям о чём-то очень важном.

Если вам случится быть в Роттердаме, заходите в гости! Мой адрес - Wijnhaven t/o 101, рядом со станцией метро Leuvehaven. Там же расположен музей под открытым небом, где можно увидеть корабли из разных времён и у некоторых побывать на борту.

Фотографии взяты с сайта www.feuerschiffseite.de



Друзья

> Плавмаяк Ирбенский
> Башня Наблюдателя
> Rozamira.org
> Янтарная волна
> Голландская рулетка
> Комплексные числа

Новости

2014-05-11 16:13:10
Начинаем публиковать фотоотчёт Альмиры Илвайри о путешествии по Чехии. Опубликована... (дальше)
2014-01-13 21:39:35
В разделе "Вокруг света" опубликован фотоотчёт Альмиры Илвайри о прогулке... (дальше)

Новое в блоге

2017-08-18 20:42:06
Поскольку мы с Тинто обещали вести о мультипликации, то пусть... (дальше)
2017-08-15 14:19:20
С днём спуска на воду меня! :-) Это произошло 66 лет... (дальше)